The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a whole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, face-to-face communication is being replaced with online conversations using social media apps such as Facebook, Instagram, Line. Although many oint out that using social media for communication can bring a variety of benefits in terms of keeping contact in long distances, this was far outweighed by drawbacks of reducing the quality of interpersonal communication. The most advantageous factor of using social media is that it have made it much easier for us to keeping contact with our loved ones regardless of geographic location. Especially students studying abroad, for example, can keep in touch with their families and friends on a daily basic using the video features of Messenger, Twitter or various other apps. In this digital age, companies can keep their cilent updated regarding newly released products or promotion by posting their campaigns on social networking sites, which helps save a great deal of time and expense compared to traditional methods of advertising in newspapers or magazines. Despite the above benefits, I personally believe that when it comes to communication, social media does more harm than good. The overuse of social media reduces the quality of interpersonal communication. Many people are so addicted to social networking sites that they constantly stare at their screen during meals with families or friends without paying attention to the people around them. The frequent use of social media also affect the styles of speaking and writing, especially among young people. Currently, many teenangers have a habit of using abbreviated words, which are frequently used in text messages or in posts on social media, in their academic essays or formal essays. Taking all points into account, the possible benefit of keeping contact in long distances is outweighed by the quality of interpersonal communication. Hence, using social networking sites can be more harmful for citizens, especially teenagers