The rise of social media has affected personal relationships and society as a hole. Do the advantages of using social media for communication outweigh the disadvantages?

In this digital world, more and more people gravitate towards online communication. from my perspective, this approach, albeit somewhat beneficial, may come at an expense of more pronounced drawbacks. On the one hand, communicating through social networking sites is advantageous. One prominent benefit is that it allows people to contact even when we are far away from others. As a matter of fact, there exists severals apps, for instance, Discord, Messenger and Twitter that make phone calls now quicker, more convenient and economical when compared with the traditional paper method which necessitates delivery man we used in the past. In addition, as we are using the same network, we can now broaden our social circle and make friends with foreigner in order to widen our horizon about their long-established cultures. This acts as a bond to strengthen the relationship between nations. On the other hand, I am convinced that the aforementioned advantages pale in comparion with the disadvantages of online contact. First, overdependence on social media may affect human well-being. Since too much exposure to blue screens can result in myopia and increase the risk of obesity if we spend too much time glued to our chair chatting with friends. Worse still, the lack of face-to-face interaction deprives people of public speaking skills. In other words, we will feel ashamed and withdrawn from the crown as can be witnessed in the case of Vietnamese students coming back to school after the COVID-19 lockdown. To summarise, while communicating on virtual platforms is far more convenient and easier to find friends. This writer claim that these advantages are arguable and that the disadvantages are more glaring, as seen in how it impacts on our health and soft skills.