Governments should spend time on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

The dramatic shift in people's way of travelling has been intensely apparent throughout the century. Some people believe that the authority needs to prioritize the construction of railways, which will eventually raise the usage of public means of transportation rather than investing in road establishment. This will be proven by discussing a comparison of London's traffic before and after the construction of the underground Metro system and the practical advantages of public vehicle enhancement. Firstly, taking a closer look at the oldest underground railroad in London, the biggest upside of it was how much it reduced the traffic congestion there. Prior to the Metro system establishment, the citizens' housings were centred in the city, which caused an overcrowded urban area and neglected suburban environment. Hence, the governance and engineers invented the underground train to help them commute from the rural zone to the city where they worked. Consequently, this stubborn issue was successfully tackled, thus making London a pioneer of the metro system. Hence, it is important for the governance to take the key takeaway from London's situation. Secondly, personal vehicles are prone to traffic congestion and expensive maintenance, hence the availability of railways may suppress the damages of this phenomenon. For instance, the certainty and easy access of trains will make trains a better alternative to travel. By using the train, people find out exactly when they will arrive, not to mention the cheap ticket compared to the increasing gas price. In conclusion, the success story of London's Metro system and the practicality of public transport enrichment should be the strong reasons for government to direct the regulation into railways improvement.