In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this.

In recent years, some people are of the opinion that young individuals in some nations are recommended to engage in a career position or take trips after they finish their secondary education. There are a few opponents who claim that taking a gap year might bring young people certain benefits despite the presence of detrimental demerits. This essay will discuss the merits and the shortages of this trend in young populations. First and foremost, taking a one-year gap allows young individuals to encapsulate all their things before encountering university. What I mean by this is that it is tremendously crucial to be on leave and unwind their minds before commencing a stressful university period. During the off-school days, adolescents can immerse themselves in travelling, or even working. Not only does it help them to maximise the opportunities to learn from their surroundings but also allows them to mitigate their mental and physical conundrums. For instance, if young learners take a trip to a foreign country, they can spend their time learning about various diversity of its culture. It is also a beneficial way to gain new knowledge with practical experiences. In reverse, there are a few drawbacks that might be exerted. Since young people are passionate about exploring the outside world; therefore, they have the tendency to ignore what they have planned to do after graduating from high school. It is common to see that many young learners are unconscious about preparing for their tertiary education. This means that they postpone the application progress as they believe it is not a momentous deal at that moment. Consequently, they might miss the opportunities to get their name written down for their desired institutions. Moreover, it is prudent to take their time to revise and prepare their background knowledge before school commence. Since they utilize their precious time for travelling and working; therefore, they might trigger stagnation in their academic journey. As a ramification, most young individuals nowadays forget what they have learned about their course-related knowledge before they enter their major. In a nutshell, everything can be recapitulated into the fact that although taking a year gap benefits young populations as it provides them with a comfortable warm-up before university, utilizing time discerningly for revising and preparing for university is also pivotal. To obtain a balance, it requires students to thoughtfully weigh up these two and make a wise decision.