Some people think parents should read or tell stories to children while others think parents need not to do that as children can read books, watch tV or movies by themselves. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The research found that bedtime reading sessions are one of the crucial ways to bond with children, especially during pre-teen age, while also enhancing their cognitive development. However, some people oppose this statement as they argue that children can do it individually without their parent's help and guidance. This essay will discuss the reason behind both arguments and why I side with the former. On one hand, when children are given the liberty to choose their leisure activities, namely watching TV, movies, or reading books, they tend to be more creative and decisive as they will seek the entertainment of their preferences. For instance, adolescents are more advanced when it comes to technology and trends, but they are hindered because their parents are unable to provide it. As a result, they prefer to explore any fun activities by themselves. Nonetheless, parents who are directly involved in the children's activity and actively read them books relatively have a stronger emotional link to their sons and daughters, which will be beneficial for their emotional intelligence development in the future. For example, parents will have the freedom to look closely at their toddler's behaviour when they spend time together to read books together. Thus, later on, the little ones will be able to convey their emotions and feel understood by their guardians, just because of this small routine of story-telling and quality time. In conclusion, the benefits of children's individual exploration have underwhelming impacts compared to the well-established emotional intelligence from direct parental guidance during children's leisure time. Finally, parents- children bonds from direct story-telling offset the liberty of children to pick their own activity.