International tourism has brought enormous to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

In recent years, new areas have opened as a tourist destination. Albeit being fascinating objects, people argue that this development negatively affects its surroundings. I believe that International tourism brings more drawbacks to the environment. To begin with, the development of holiday spots brings positive impacts to the local citizens. First of all, such an area gives promising economic benefits for the neighbourhood. It is because the local enterprises are able to grow and more human resources are needed. As an illustration, Balinese are profitable since more chain stores are available to serve the high demand of the visitors. Additionally, this phenomenon is also a good chance to introduce the local culture. Since many tourists come from other areas, the native habitants can use this event to show their culture. Albeit beneficial, international tourism is harmful to the environment. Firstly, the development of this area is usually related to the loss of wild animal habitat. It happens because to build such a destination, land clearing usually becomes the method. Furthermore, native animals lose their places to live and hunt food. Another reason is that some visitors do not respect the native culture. For example, there are a lot of cases in Bali where visitors are riding motorcycles without proper safety gear and riding at high speed. In conclusion, despite the benefits to the local economy and a chance to introduce the native culture, the shortcomings of international tourism outweigh the advantages. These drawbacks are related to land clearing and deforestation which are harmful to the environment.