Many people feel that students should learn from online materials, while others feel that it is better to use printed materials. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Despite the fact that it has been pointed out by some that students ought to use online resources when they are studying, others suggest that printed books and notes are better. Personally, I completely agree with the latter idea, as using physical books contributes to a better academic performance. On the one hand, some people argue that learners should get used to using all the learning resources online, as physical books can cause serious environmental issues. This is because printing handouts and relying on physical textbooks can consume a huge amount of paper, which is produced by using electrical equipment. This equipment is powered by burning large amounts of fossil fuels, which releases carbon dioxide into the atmosphere. For instance, a massive proportion of paper factory owners mention that as the local government has noticed the serious environmental drawbacks of paper production, they have to develop more eco-friendly manufacturing methods, which reduce the consumption of fossil fuel and lower carbon emissions, contributing to environmental preservation. On the other hand, other individuals, including me, believe that printed learning materials are beneficial for efficient study. The reason is that a vast majority of schoolchildren have gotten used to reading physical notes, as they have been taught to use them when they were little. Individuals are allowed to freely write down their thoughts and reorganise the order of the papers as needed, which helps them to memorise knowledge efficiently, thus boosting exam results. As an illustration, many high school youngsters say that although digital devices can serve the same purpose as textbooks, their data on laptops is sometimes lost and not saved properly. By contrast, when utilising printed handouts, they are able to write down their notes at any time, which makes their study much more convenient and helps them achieve a high score in their examinations. In conclusion, people may vary in their opinions in terms of which type of learning resources should be used, while I am of the opinion that printed materials are more effective, since they enhance learning outcomes.