It is important for people to take risks, both in their professional lives and their personal lives. Do you think the advantages of taking risks outweigh the disadvantages?

Some say that taking more personal and professional risks is crucial to living a fulfilling life. In contrast, others argue that it’s much safer to limit taking risks and lead a stable and predictable life. This essay will argue that the advantages of taking risks far outweigh the drawbacks. This essay will first discuss that, through risk-taking, people can open doors for new opportunities and enhance their critical thinking skills, followed by an analysis of how its primary disadvantage, the possibility of failure, can be easily aided and should not hinder people from taking risks. The main advantage of taking risks is the possibility of garnering new opportunities with far more rewards than not taking risks at all. Through this, people can open their minds to the possibility of achieving better things in their lives instead of being limited to a fixed circumstance. For instance, by taking the risk of spending a significant sum of money for an IELTS exam to learn abroad, upon getting satisfactory results, one can greatly improve their quality of life. Furthermore, by taking calculated risks, people can develop their critical thinking skills. Taking calculated risks means having to take a lot of things into consideration before making a final decision. By making these regularly, one can get accustomed to them and be ready to tackle situations requiring quick thinking. For instance, before being trusted with a full-time job with many responsibilities, a junior intern at a start-up company must demonstrate their decision-making skills, which can only be developed after experiencing moments when taking risks is required. However, some argue that risk-taking bears a high chance of failure. Usually, this happens when decisions are uncalculated and are being made spontaneously. For instance, many college students in Indonesia decide that college degrees are pointless for employment, and they would instead get an instant service-level job that does not pay well. This premature thinking disregards how competitive the work field is and does not consider that even graduate students find it hard to get jobs that pay them minimum wage. Through obtaining the proper information and giving decisions more thought, the risks of failure can indeed be minimized. In conclusion, although taking risks can potentially lead to drawbacks in life, such as wrong career decisions, the rewards of taking them are far more beneficial as they can open doors for new opportunities and develop valuable critical thinking skills.