In the future, nobody will buy printed newspaper or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some predict that in the years to come, printed media, like books and newspapers, will no longer be purchased by the masses as accessing them via illegal pirate websites is becoming increasingly common. This essay somewhat agrees that there will be a decrease in purchasing printed material because of its high prices as well as the popularisation of using illegal pirate sites, but also argues that people will still continue to purchase printed media as a form of appreciation towards the authors making them. One of the main reasons people stop purchasing printed media these days is because of its overwhelmingly high prices. It is much more cost-efficient and easy to look up what they want to read and browse through several sites to obtain them instead of going to an actual library, spending money, and then being able to read. This makes information much more accessible and can even cater to those less fortunate who do not have the funds to purchase educational school books, for instance. As a result, more people have access to education which will result in their overall improved quality of life in the future. However, this is done at the expense of hardworking authors who poured their talent and knowledge into their writing while not being given the proper appreciation and recognition they deserve. This is why I believe that in the future, people will still buy printed books in order to support these artists. Another reason why buying print materials is becoming less common is the normalization of using pirated websites. These sites offer illegal media and content at the click of a button. Consequently, as they become increasingly common, people grow more and more oblivious as to how harmful this actually is to the writing industry and also the economy as a whole. For example, authors sometimes have to take up different professions at once because they just aren’t making enough money through writing alone, and some might even quit writing altogether. To conclude, I do believe that, to a certain extent, the sales of printed media will continue to dissipate in the coming years due to the lack of interested buyers and the accessibility of obtaining them through illegal sites. That being said, I still believe that people will show their appreciation towards authors by purchasing their physical products, even though the same is available for free online.