As technology develops, more shopping and business is done through the internet while communication face to face becomes less frequent. Is this a positive or a negative development?

As we can see, from time to time, there is a tremendous upgrade in almost every department worldwide. Technology has been filling in, helping and even replacing the work of the conventional force labourers. I am in two minds about this issue since it has both positive and negative effects. On one side, it brings convenience and simplifies our efforts in purchasing and doing business. On the other hand, it will reduce face-to-face communication. The plus side is that from the customers' point of view, as we are all, our daily routines in grocery and buying goods are even dominated by technology. The economy is pretty much affected by applications, websites, or blogs. These will facilitate buyers to buy only by clicking on the internet. Nowadays, we can easily have a home-based business to increase our salary. Considering the upcoming inflation, Millennials and Gen Z may feel that putting their income into savings or just finding a work-life balance is an uphill battle. Hence, e-commerce can be the best solution for them as a side hustle. On the contrary, in developing countries, sadly, the old way of transaction is the only way to make a living for most of the poor shopkeepers. Therefore, the developing tools will add more gap between the rich and the unfortunate. Often, merchants do not have the privilege of a smartphone, the internet, or the knowledge to use it. Take my country as an example, in Indonesia, not long ago there were some protests against the TikTok Shops due to the cheap prices they offered from the applications. Sellers on TikTok Shops may rise while the sellers in Pasar Tanah Abang face their worst nightmare, bankruptcy. There were no visitors, even if there were, they did not buy from them. To conclude, I am on the fence about the improvement of machinery in the shopping and trade area. With the easiness it offers, it may hurt the underprivileged if the government does not pay their concern to the small people. One way or another, I think we should find a solution to bridge this gap so that this advancement brings benefit to everyone regardless of their economic status.