People are staying more and more at home, these days. What are the causes and effects.

Nowadays, plenty of people prefer to stay at the place of their residence. This uprising trend is especially popular in the big cities of the developed countries. The reasons and possible aftermaths of the current behaviour I want to discuss in this essay. Morden society allows individuals to prosper inside their own apartments without physical interaction with the outside world. Firstly, range of the jobs that can be done online is tremendous and almost any person with any professional skills can find a decent workplace. The second important thing is that anything from groceries to a house can be bought if you have the Internet. Online shopping increased dramatically during the last few years and COVID pandemic was playing not the last role in this development. While all the people were locked at home for months, companies had adopted and developed new technologies that allowed them to provide their goods and services to consumers. The most incredible, from my point of view, is a technology developed by Amazon, they are using drones for delivering parcels contactless. On the other hand, there is no doubt that these new circumstances are bringing new unfavourable outcomes. One point would be health problems caused by the lack of physical activity. The biggest concern is obesity and the diseases caused by it. Based on statistics around 60% of the population of Australia is overweight or obese and staying at home can push this rate even further. In addition, increasing social distance is also detrimental to human well-being and society at large. Deprivation from person-to-person interaction can be harmful to psychological health and can cause such problems as anxiety and depression. Increasing statistics of psychiatrist appointments during the pandemic can illustrate how hard it can feel to be isolated. In conclusion, the idea of staying at home is becoming more and more popular due to the development of technical possibilities to work online. However, profitable factors such as convenience must be considered together with possible harm to physical and mental health. Individuals should target a more balanced approach that allows them to get the best from these two worlds and approach a healthy and fulfilled life.