Some people argue that mass media only bring negative effect to society and should be banned. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is often said that mass media often brings negative impacts to society and only shows unnecessary content. Therefore, many people said that it should be banned immediately. Although I agree that mass media nowadays has a bad influence, I think that it should not be banned because it also provides useful information for the public. There are several reasons why mass media is often seen to give a bad impact. One of the reasons behind this perspective is that there are numerous inappropriate contents which frequently show some unethical behaviour. It can be seen that some programs such as movies and reality shows contain cursing words, bullying, or pranks. It is obviously not acceptable to be watched especially for children and students. Furthermore, there is a lot of controversy about celebrities which is not necessarily important and people tend to assume negative things. Additionally, news that appears in the media is not totally true and can not always be held accountable. A lot of spreading hoaxes makes people worried and often leads to disinformation. Nevertheless, mass media should not be totally banned because it also provides various useful information such as education and breaking news so that people will be able to know things that happen currently from all over the world. Furthermore, mass media is a form of entertainment which can reduce people ’s stress and tension. In conclusion, mass media is proven to give some negative impacts to the public such as hoaxes and other inappropriate contents. However, this media is still needed by the people as an entertainment and source of numerous information so that there must be no bans on the mass media.