Zoos are inhumane and should be abolished. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Some people are convinced that animals should live only in their own natural environments and that all places where they are confined to live in captivity must be closed. In my opinion, some sanctuaries and other structures that rescue those in need are fundamental to preserving some species. On the other hand, I agree that sometimes the hygienic and living conditions are very poor, so they can damage the fauna living there. Firstly, every living being should be free to stay in their natural environment, without any human interaction. Unfortunately, some species are at risk of extinction, while some individuals are striving to survive due to health conditions. So, in these cases, animal sanctuaries are fundamental to helping those in need, for instance by feeding and healing weak members or by protecting endangered species in controlled areas. Therefore, these structures need to be funded and opening their gates to visitors allows them to raise money to buy food and medicines. However, other zoos do not respect animals, that are merely seen as an easy way to gain money. Because of this, the fauna living there is trapped in small dirty cages. Under these conditions, the animals suffer because, for example, they do not have enough room for running or the right food required by their diets. Furthermore, some exotic animals are forced to survive in climate areas far from their original ones: polar bears living in a very hot and humid city zoo, to cite a case. In conclusion, somebody suggests banning all the zoos, since they cause harm to animals. I believe generalizing this topic in this manner is an oversimplification. In fact, some structures are fundamental in nature preservation, while others that use living beings as a commercial business should be abolished.