Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Rapid technology has allowed many new inventions to be produced with no exception of health industry that there is an increasing trend where society choose to visit alternatives option over professional doctors as it is far cheaper in some cases. However, in my view, this can be perceived as a negative trend due to the two reasons that i will explain in th following paragraphs. Firstly, going to an alternative treatments option can lead to malpractice. This is because many of the alternatives practitioner did not attend any formal education nor have a requisite knowledge about anything that is related to medical science whereas doctors need to follow a long journey to finally become a specalist. Take a look at Indonesia, where alternatives are dominantly occupied by religious individuals who offers spiritual experience of treatement. Hence, trusting alternatives that claim can cure many kind of illnesses sounds extremely irrelevant in which there is likely a chance for the result to come worse, especially when curing patients with special and rare cases such as cancer. Secondly, account for the side effects given from the incorrect measurements of drugs from informal institutions. Usually, alternatives practitioners offers one-for-all medicines without customizing each of the patiens patient needs. Moreover, the drugs that is used also mostly containing of herbs with questionably proven certification. Hence, without a careful guidance by professionals may cause to complecatioin of overusing drugs. To conclude, considering how complex any worst cases may occur from death threats to drugs overconsumption, which caused by untrustworthy institutions seems to make this trend as a negative development. Hence, people need to think wisely that nothing more imporant than the worth of healthiness before visiting alternatives.