Living in a country where you have to speak a foreign language can cause serious social probelms, as well as practical problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Language is one of the most crucial aspects in life, especially when living abroad. It interferes with our daily life, hence why some people see living in a foreign-speaking country may cause problems, socially or practically. This essay argues why this problem is no longer relevant. In their everyday life, many people feel more comfortable speaking in their mother tongue. Thus, language could be a huge barrier in communicating for those who speak different languages. A sentence might be processed differently due to the different context of each country, which could be the main reason why people encounter social problems in this case. For example, when someone says that you eat a lot in South Korea could be considered as a compliment, while it might not be the case in other countries. There are many examples of why people might experience these problems. However, I personally think that these problems are irrelevant in this era because of tons of things. The first one being the community. As the world grows older, many understand the importance of owning your own culture, even in a country abroad. Those who are not living in their own country, would have no problem in searching for their own community where the people there can help them in learning the new language. These communities could also be a place for them to seek support, which hopefully could lessen their struggle living abroad. The second one is technology. In this era of digitalization, people are moving towards utilizing their own electronic devices on every occasion. The problems of language barrier could be solved easily by using the translation devices. The emergence of AI could also be utilized in this context as it might be able to provide a more contextual translation rather than a direct one. To conclude, even though people might experience some struggles living in a country where you do not speak the language, there will always be a way to counter those problems such as seek support from the community and utilize the use of technology.