Some people believe that studying History is very important. Others say that it is irrelevant and has many limitations and should not be studied at all. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that history plays an important role in shaping societies. While there is a commonly held belief that historical studies are crucial, there is also an argument that learning history can sometimes be less useful in modern times. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion. On the one hand, studying history provides precious information about the old civilisation. In other words, details about how ancient people lived and how they improved their lives over time are well documented in history books. In addition, historical studies on wars that occurred in the last century influenced current international laws. For example, investigating World Wars I and II assisted in applying global restrictions to prevent human rights violations. On the other hand, history is one of the densest subjects, with a heavy number of dates, characters and events. It is possible to say that wasting time memorising these details negatively impacts students’ focus on other essential subjects, such as mathematics and science. Moreover, some old incidents were shown later to be fabricated or not accurately documented by powerful people at that time. Therefore, efforts are consumed on learning false information. For instance, Christopher Columbus was long presented as the discoverer of America, even though indigenous people had already been living there for centuries. In conclusion, there is no easy answer to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that studying history is important as it improves our understanding of the past and teaches us lessons to avoid harsh occurrences.