Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Certain community thinks that the government should replace the old buildings and build the modern ones instead. I agree as long as this policy doesn' t change the original buildings, particularly historical buildings, and build modern ones in the unlivable place instead. I will explain the reasons in this essay. Firstly, spending money on refurbishing old buildings, which are desolated, seems to have more disadvantages than rebuilding them. This is because the costs needed for renovation of the old buildings that seem uninhabitable are more expensive than building a new one. For instance, renovating an old and abandoned apartment because of its structure may cause accidents to its residents someday so it can cost more rather than rebuilding it. Consequently, the budget for an old building can be ballooned just to renovate it many times. Thus, building new modern ones is less costs than rehabilitating them. On the other hand, different from an abandoned apartment, some historical attractions can not be rebuilt despite the old conditions it have. The reason for this statement is that rebuilding it may take the originality and historical side away from the building. For example, a historical place in a city that even the government doesn' t pay attention to may seem not maintained so it needs a restoration to maintain the historical part of the building. Thus, rebuilding it may take away and cost more than reconstructing it. In conclusion, spending too much money on making an old building is acceptable for certain buildings, such as historical buildings, yet it will be excessive if the money is used for certain buildings that don' t contain any historical aspects. Therefore, it is clear that spending too much money on old buildings is allowed for buildings that don' t have historical aspects in them. These reasons can be considerable to the relevant government.