Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Many children would spend a big portion of their day on their smartphones. This is because smartphones offer easy access to different types of entertainment without any supervision, while also providing children with new ways of learning through various educational platforms. My stance regarding this notion is this phenomenon can be considered positive progress, as long as children using smartphones receive proper moderation by their guardians. There are many options for children to have fun using their smartphones, such as playing mobile games and watching movies on different streaming platforms. This has been proven in a research study from 2022, which stated that children who were born in the 2010s have a significantly more gadget addiction rate and more entertainment-specific screen time than those who were born before the year 2010. Those are the main downsides of the increase of mobile phone access in children, which can be buffered by enacting proper moderation in its usage. However, the usage of smartphones in children can also generate positive outcomes. For instance, children can access many options of learning platforms to enhance their cognitive abilities, such as electronic books, educational series, and online lectures. Supporting that, a recommendation has been made by the International Pediatric Association, favouring the integration of the Internet and mobile device use in children's education system. By using smartphones for learning, there will eventually be no more physical restrictions in achieving a proper education. In summary, I personally think that children spending more time on their smartphones can be considered a positive development, due to the easier access to online learning platforms.