Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children How far do you agree or disagree? What is your opinion on this.

A section of the society holds the belief that content telecasted by various channels offer no actual benefits for the younger audience. In my conviction, adult content on TV may have negetive physiological effect on children, whereas, by watching educational programmes, they can gain knowledge. Therefore, I wish to partially agree with the captioned statement. To begine with, watching age-inappropriate material on television may negetively impact mental helth and stability of young viewers.In my opinion, children have the tendency to imitate adult behavier without question the morality of such action. When they are exposed to negative adult content in television such as violence, substance use and bad language,they may follow such action, adn as a result they may inculcate substandarsd sub standard behavior as well. To illustrate this, according to an article which appeared on the New York Times in December 2023, it was revealed that 68% of underaged crimes in the US have been conducted by teens, who were influenced by violent content such as WWE on television. Hence, it is evident that adult material on televison may have a detrimental effect on minors. On the other hand, by viewing educational content such as documentaries, quizzes and news programmes, children may enchance curricular and general knowledge. According to my observation, TV can deliver impactful audio-visual experience, whichmaybe which maybe used as an effective learning aid to educate the youngsters. Therefore, in some countries TV is used as as educational tool to improve their languague and vocabulary and also develop their skills and logical thinking. For example, during the Covid lock-down in 2020, when children were confined to their homes, the national television in Sri Lanka, telecast programmes to support them in their GCE test preparation. Thus, I sincerely believe that television can be used effictively to educate the younger generation. In conclution, children who tend to imitate negative adult action on TV may inculcate immora; and substandard behaviour. In contrast, the younger viewers who are encouradge to watch educational programmes may improve their knowledge and all-round skills. As such, this writer is in partial agreement with the notion tht television programmes are of no real value for children.