Some people believe that television programmes are of no real value for children 2. How far do you agree or disagree? What is your opinion on this

A section of society holds the belief that content telecasted by various channels offers no actual benefits for the younger audience. In my conviction, adult content on TV may have negative physiological effect on children, whereas, by watching educational programmes, they can gain knowledge. Therefore, I wish to partially agree with the captioned statement. To begin with, watching age-inappropriate material on television may negatively impact the mental health and stability of young viewers.In my opinion, children have the tendency to imitate adult behaviour without questioning the morality of such action. When they are exposed to negative adult content on television such as violence, substance use and bad language,they may follow such actions, and as a result they may inculcate substandard behaviour as well. To illustrate this, according to an article which appeared in the New York Times in December 2023, it was revealed that 68% of underaged crimes in the US have been committed by teens, who were influenced by violent content such as WWE on television. Hence, it is evident that adult material on television may have a detrimental effect on minors. On the other hand, by viewing educational content such as documentaries, quizzes and news programmes, children may enhance curricular and general knowledge. According to my observation, TV can deliver an impactful audio-visual experience, which maybe used as an effective learning aid to educate youngsters. Therefore, in some countries, TV is used as an educational tool to improve their language and vocabulary and also develop their skills and logical thinking. For example, during the Covid lockdown in 2020, when children were confined to their homes, the national television in Sri Lanka, telecast programmes to support them in their GCE test preparation. Thus, I sincerely believe that television can be used effectively to educate the younger generation. In conclusion, children who tend to imitate negative adult actions on TV may inculcate immora; and substandard behaviour. In contrast, the younger viewers who are encouraged to watch educational programmes may improve their knowledge and all-round skills. As such, this writer is in partial agreement with the notion that television programmes are of no real value for children.