In some cultures, children are often told that thy can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

In some cultures, people would tell children they can accomplish anything as long as they work hard enough. I regard having children receive this viewpoint can improve their incentive to study, but children might doubt themselves if they fail in the area they are not good at. On the positive side, kids having faith that they can achieve anything through hard work motivates them to try their best to study what they are interested in and make their dreams come true. If they do not believe in their abilities to succeed, they might waste their potential. In contrast, kids who are encouraged to believe in their efforts have more confidence when they face challenges, they also tend to be more patient and resilient when they fail, because of believe the achievement will come in the future if they persist in trying. On the negative side, trusting the effort is leading to inevitable achievement is not always good for youngsters’ mental health. People are born special, achievements are not only influenced by effort but also by education, talent and luck. Youngsters need to ascertain what is suitable for them, ignoring the elements which affect their effort has potential possibilities of frustration and self-doubt, because they think it is only their fault for not reaching their goals. In conclusion, teaching children they can achieve anything if they work hard enough has positive side which motivates children to study hard to reach their goals, as well as has negative side which self-blame may occur when they fail.