Study shows that many criminals have a low level of education. For this reason, some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to educate people in prison, so that they can get a job when they leave prison. Do you agree or disagree?

Recently, researchers have shown that poor education is a common factor for many criminals. Hence, some people think that the key to reducing crime rates is to provide educational curricula for prisoners. Thereby, they have job opportunities when they finish their sentences. Personally, I agree, and I will explain my perspective. Firstly, many criminals come from low-income backgrounds, and in order to survive, poor people may break the law to provide a living. For so long, we have said that education is the cure for poverty. Therefore, educating criminals results in getting a job once they leave, so the financial issues won't be a burden anymore. For example, in Norway, the government helps the prisoners get educated, formal education in prison includes primary and secondary school, work-qualifying courses, vocational training, and tertiary studies. To encourage ex-convicts not to commit illegal acts. Furthermore, prisoners can receive moral teaching. In some countries, criminals get to learn about religions, which teach them about principles, rights, and wrongs. Thereby, not only do they learn for the sake of a career, but they also develop their personal ethics. For instance, in Saudi Arabia, they teach prisoners about Islam and moral values, and if a prisoner memorises the holy Quran by heart and is of good conduct and behaviour, his sentence reduces. That encourages them to be better individuals even after prison. Additionally, learning enhances self-esteem. Education motivates critical thinking and problem solving. Therefore, when prisoners successfully tackle complex problems, they become more self-assured of their capacity to overcome challenges. This contributes to a sense of accomplishment and boosts their self-esteem. To sum up, it's valuable to provide criminals with ethical and technical education to ensure that they can find a job once they leave, be better citizens, and fit into the society.