Many students now work whilst they are studying in college or university. This often results in them having less time to concentrate on their studies as well as feeling under pressure. What are some of the causes of this? What solutions could you suggest?

Increasingly, students are having to work whilst studying, meaning they are unable to focus fully on their learning. In this essay, I will discuss this rising problem and suggest solutions. Firstly, I will explore the financial implications for students needing to find employment whilst studying, and secondly, I will discuss how work experience may influence their decision to work. It is true that education can be very expensive for students needing further studies. As a result of needing money for student finance and living expenses, many undergraduates need to find work. One solution to this problem could be local governments funding students with free grants and subsidized accommodation. As a result of this added support, students would feel less stressed and worried about needing to finance their learning and studying, which may also lead to higher scores in their studies. Another cause for students to work whilst attending academic institutions is to gain real-life work experience to help find employment post-study. Consequently, many students are concentrating on finding the desired work experience and not focusing their energies on studies and learning. One suggested solution to this issue could be to offer more sandwich courses, which include an amount of in-house working experience. This would have a beneficial impact on student attainment as learners could focus on their courses at all times. In conclusion, we can see that this is a difficult issue for people wanting to study, as the need to work is obviously high, with many different reasons for needing employment.