People living in the 21st century have a better life quality than people who lived in previous times. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

With the rapid development of the world as a whole, it is easy to speculate that humanity's overall life quality in the current times is superior to that of the past. Technology has enabled us to live life to the fullest extent, with convenient smart devices facilitating us with every aspect of growth. However, this doesn't come free of problems, causing a significant crowd to argue that life was inherently better in the past. This essay will evaluate the issue above, as well as give a personal opinion on the matter. On one hand, better development of science means that humans do not have to worry about illnesses. Moreover, problem-solving technologies such as smart homes are making our day-to-day lives so much more convenient, allowing us to enjoy life hassle-free. But as always, every good thing comes with its own set of complications. These technologies cost an arm and a leg to buy - meaning you would have to work extremely hard to be able to afford them. In the ever-growing world with developing economies, people are being forced to work harder - and with that comes less time to enjoy life. Furthermore, the industrialization era wrecked our environment so much that it is starting to affect our health and daily lives. On the other hand, the aforementioned troubles were non-existent during the pre-21st century era. According to historians, people in the past didn't have to worry much about working since necessities were relatively affordable at the time. What's more, pollution was not a big deal in pre-industrialization eras. Back then, the air was fresh, lakes were unbelievably clear, trees grew all over the place, and life was peaceful. However, without technologies, diseases and plagues were spreading all across the globe, and there were no cures for such diseases. Also, people had to deal with daily trouble that can be eliminated with modern technology suggesting that life in the past was quite inconvenient. From my perspective, this alone is a large enough issue that it completely outweigh the advantages. To summarize, it is hard to decide which era has better life quality for humans since each one has its own assets and liabilities. It is important to mention that as technology keeps advancing and economies are growing, our life quality might significantly improve in the near future, settling the debate once and for all.