What damage does plastic do for the environment? Whta can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

The consumption of plastic has increased drastically over the years, leading to the dramatic consequences for the environment. This essay will examine its global impact and consider possible ways to mitigate plastic ’s effect on nature. The major reason why plastic is considered harmful to the ecology is that it does not decompose naturally, contaminating the environment for hundreds of years. Consequently, it accumulates in land and water, causing harm to both animals, marine creatures and humans. For instance, fish often mistake plastic pieces for food, which frequently causes injury and even death. Furthermore, plastic contains various chemicals, some of which may be toxic. When plastic waste is stored on landfills, these elements can leach into the environment. Therefore, soil, water and air become contaminated, posing risk to the living beings. To address the issue of plastics, several complex measures should be implemented. I believe that it is imperative for governments to implement regulations and incentives that encourage companies to adopt more sustainable practices. For instance, they can provide grants for corporations that develop eco-friendly packaging solutions. At the same time, taxes could be imposed on the plastic production in order to make it unprofitable for the factories. If these two measures had been applied before, the problem of plastic contamination would not have been so severe now. Also, civilians can play a significant role in mitigating the problem of plastic overconsumption. Firstly, every individual may switch from using plastic packaging to its biodegradable alternatives, like cotton bags. Not only will it reduce the amount of waste, but it can also inspire companies to deliver goods in «green» bags to meet the customer’s expectations. Secondly, individuals may recycle garbage, and also support businesses that offer recycling programmes. By doing that, they can make a meaningful contribution to the reduction of plastic pollution. To sum up, an overuse of plastic is a pressing issue that affects nature and people all over the globe. To tackle the problem, I firmly believe that the authorities and the civil society should work hand in hand, implementing complex solutions. With joint efforts, there is a chance to mitigate pollution of our planet before it is too late.