In many countries, it is mandatory for school children to wear uniforms. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In many parts of the world, kids are required to wear uniforms to school always. As expected, this practice has stirred up a lot of controversy among the populace. This essay will identify some of the advantages and disadvantages of this policy and provide relevant examples from personal experience. To begin with, the practice encourages and fosters a sense of identity for these students. Consequently, they will be easily spotted as minors wherever they go. This really helps when it comes to security, as school uniform-wearing kids can be easily noticed, when found outside school premises. Secondly, youngsters will be free to mingle with each other and identified as peers when wearing the same apparel. Socio-economic differences are eliminated and are all seen as equals. A classic example of this, is when I was in the boarding house during my upper primary school days. We only saw ourselves as different; in terms of the haves and the have-nots, during weekends when parents and guardian come to visit their wards. The cars they drove in, the provisions they brought to their wards and the whole pageantry really highlighted the differences between the poor and the rich. On the other hand, insisting that these young ones wear a prescribed attire is an infringement on their civil liberties. This policy does not give consideration to their inclinations or natural tendencies to dress in a particular way, that makes them feel comfortable. Furthermore, the cost implications to parents for providing these uniforms is not considered. Whenever school reopens from vacation, it is observed that the prices; of stationery and other student paraphernalia, increases. In conclusion, the advantages and disadvantages of the mandatory uniforms for institutions need to be weighed and considered carefully. Whiles the policy promotes equality and enhances security, it also limits self-expression and imposes financial burden on parents and guardian alike.