Some people think that competition at work, at school and in daily life is a good thing. Others believe that we should try to cooperate more, rather than competing against each other. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people argue that being competitive in all aspects of life such as at work and school will have a more positive impact on human beings, whilst others disagree and opine that being cooperative is more important. This essay agrees with the first statement that competition will bring more benefit to people in any circumstance, like at school and work, hence it should be followed by healthy rivalry among colleagues. I opine that a less competitive environment will reduce people’s stress levels at work or school. Hence, it will bring a positive impact on communities, if it is followed by cooperative members who are able to understand each other characters and skills. For example, a slow-paced company tends to have a low employee turnover rate due to a conducive working environment, which translates into high employee happiness and loyalty to the enterprise. On the other hand, a fair competition will motivate society to have a great achievement, both academic and non-academic. This also might influence their interest to elevate their skills to be beyond other people, resulting in a better output and career. Thus, it is nothing strange to see that many schools encourage their scholars to compete in several prestigious events to enhance their portfolios to appear more impressive, hence helping them be accepted by top-notch universities. In conclusion, it is important to be ambitious, as it might help us to stay focused on improving ourselves, resulting in a better career. However, it should be accompanied by a fair climate to keep the conditions conducive.