Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them

Nowadays, with development of parenting method, some people argue that it is imperative for children to decide everyday matters by their own while others argue it will bring a negative impact to society as they will become selfish individuals. The following essay will discuss both points of view and present my perspective. On the one hand, giving a lot of freedom for children to decide on their own can bring several negative impact to the society because children is not fully developed mentally. First, it will cause a society full of selfish people as they care only about themselves. This is because children cannot think clearly and critically about the outcomes of their decision compared to adults. For example, children like to eat sugary food without thinking too much about the negative consequences to their health. In addition, children is not prepared to take the consequences of their action if it cause bad consequences to other people. On the other hand, children who learn to make decisions on their own can get several benefit. By trying to make decisions that affect them in their daily life, children learn to be independent. This trait makes them learning to take responsibility of their action. Furthermore, it the long run, they can learn from their mistake and improve their judgement. To sum up, giving children freedom to take decision into their account can bring positive and negative consequences to their development. Personally, I believe that children should be accompanied by their parent when making important decision and limit their freedom to some extent.