Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

The decreasing amount of time that children spend on offline activities is dangerously alarming, hence why many juveniles are so occupied with smartphones to compensate for that. This phenomenon is allegedly caused by a major expansion of advancement of technology which allows children to do most of their activity via online platforms, even for studying, and increasing the sense of dependency. This essay will discuss how this particular shift of behaviour is not beneficial for the offspring. Firstly, children may lack self-control and refuse to put their phones down to do their responsibilities, such as studying or engaging with family members. Take video games, for instance, this particular activity is so addictive that it severely causes plummeting school grades for many adolescents. If this issue is not quickly tackled, it will lead to more severe damage, such as a lack of cognitive development and self-regulation of the juveniles. Thus, the overuse of smartphones impacts the emotional intelligence of their users, especially their offspring. Secondly, other than impacting the social well-being of children, the skyrocketing number of screen time also affects their physical wellness as they will barely move their muscles when operating cell phones. Furthermore, this statement is proven by research on how adolescents with low physical activity tend to be more brittle and easily get sick, even having a higher chance of obesity, compared to those who regularly walk or do exercise. Consequently, the juveniles ' low physical strengths which are caused by smartphone usage will slowly disrupt their long-term health conditions, which is a higher risk of suffering chronic disease in the future. Hence, too much screen time is not good for children's bodies. In conclusion, the dramatic rise in offspring's cell phone usage happens because of the convenience of doing everything online. Finally, the disadvantages that it may cause are the juveniles ' poor emotional regulations and the disruption of their physical well-being, hence why I strongly agree that this is a negative development.