In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words.

In some parts of the world, the number of residents moving from rural areas to the cities is increasing, thereby leaving the countryside becomes fewer inhabitants. Such a phenomenon can cause an appalling economic condition and cause the cities to become more populated, leading to negative development. Primarily, all citizens play a vital role in countries' economic growth, not only people in the cities, but also in the isolated areas. This is due to the fact that people in the countryside contribute from agricultural sectors. If individuals, like farmers, fishermen, and agricultural-related jobs, move to the cities, the country will witness a shortage of staple foods which are cultivated and produced by those workers. This issue will exceptionally influence the economic cycle of certain countries because they will lose the support from such sectors as one of the largest economic contributors. Letting those who live in rural areas move, therefore, may result in numerous shortcomings. Another problem that possibly emerges if people continue to move to the cities is the prolonged congestion on the road because there will be an increase in the number of vehicles used. The notorious traffic in Jakarta, for instance, may be the result of an overload population. Beyond this problem, the more individuals live in a particular area, the harder they will seek jobs. Thus, limited job opportunities can also occur owing to never-ending competition in the labour market, increasing the unemployment rate. In conclusion, the world trend of moving from suburban areas to the cities will cause a problem in the economic sector and also contribute to traffic congestion which has been an alarming problem in the cities. Hence, I believe that this will lead to negative development.