Some people view teenage conflict with their parents as a necessary part of growing up, whilst others view it as something negative which should be avoided. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The adolescent phase takes a major role in their character development where they will eventually encounter conflicts with anyone, especially with their closest relatives– which are their parents. There has been a debate whether or not it is necessary to experience this as a part of growing up or the other way around. This essay will discuss each viewpoints to understand both sides of people’s opinion. A conflict can occur to anyone in any time of age in their lifetime and it does not have to be avoided at all times. When you are in age where you have to learn by experience and have time on your own to reflect as a part of self-actualization, it is not always have to be taught by the book. However, when they are facing a problem with their parents, they can learn how to face the consequences of their actions and improve their conflict-resolution skills. Hence why some people view this as an important situation for teenagers to experience. Meanwhile, some people opposed to the idea due to the belief that a negative incident would lead to teenagers being distant towards them. If the conflict comes up consequently, they would normalize these occurrences and are unable to improve their way in coping with conflicts. There are alternative ways such as giving them challenging tasks to complete independently in order to solve problems on their own. In my opinion, confronting negative experience may help teenagers or even people in any age to improve their behavior in facing it and would eventually develop their problem solving skills instead of avoiding it. Therefore, facing conflict at a young age with their parents is necessary for their growth in behavior and personality-wise.