Some say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably. To what extent do you agree or disagree whit this statement?

Becoming ageing society, extension about retiring age has been discussed recently. Some believe it is inevitable to have longer retirement age limit, while others deem it is not the right time for it. I totally agree with the former statement that the age when retiring should be extended. This essay will examine both perspective and the reason why I believe the argument. First of all, older people who reach the retiring age are not as weak as our ancestors possessing enough physical and mental abilities. Therefore, these employees can take their roles and responsibilities, providing invaluable tips to young new hires. For example, a survey responded by HR managers in Korean corporates revealed that work performance of senior workforce is above of juniors', and HR personnels answered they are willing to keep hiring senior employees. On the other hand, raised retiring age can makes harder for young graduates to get their first job, causing freezing employment market. If senior employees can work longer at companies, then organisations would not have demands for newly hiring. For example, some Korean companies have closed recruitment for years since they have enough people in the companies who are not willing to quit their job until the retiring age. To sum up, social dispute of retirement has both sides. One is extending retiring age because using know-how of seniorities can maintain overall performance of organisations, and the other is it can froze employment market, so we should postpone the discussion about it. I think on balance the advantage of allowing employees to work longer at their companies outweigh the disadvantage.