In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays a general proportion of elderly people in societies is constantly increasing. Many are of the opinion that this tendency is highly beneficial; however, some argue that an agening population is problematic for governments. This essay will discuss how the benefits of elderly society clearly outweighs its drawbacks. On the one hand, some might consider that seniors are the source of local traditions, so they are much needed in a society. That is to say, older people are usually those who pay a lot of attention to the specific customs, and they can ensure cultivation of them. For example, there is a renowned event in London, during which elderly citizens tell teenagers stories about the history and culture of the United Kingdom. Therefore, a great number of older people in a society can enhance preservation of local heritage. Despite this single positive aspect, there are several disadvantages of an ageing population. Firstly, seniors pose a problem for health care systems. In other words, elderly people usually suffer from numerous diseases, so governements have to invest a huge amount of money into facilities for their recovery. Evidence for that was provided in the recent WHO research, which indicated that a majority of the healthcare systems' funds is allocated into medicines for elderly citizens. Moreover, predominance of elderly people in a society cause an increase of taxes for the remaining citizens. This is because younger residents have to cover the costs of retirements, a number of which is rising simultaneously to the number of seniors in a country. Thus, it is evident that an agening population cause problems not only for the governments, but also for the rest of a society. To conclude, although elderly people can contribute to the conituation of a native culture, they are undeniably problematic for societies. Not only do they burden health care systems, but they also oblige younger citizens to pay higher taxes. Therefore, I maintain that the negative aspects of ageing population have the edge over its potential benefits.