The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Scientific development is one of the most indispensable subjects in modern society. Even though some argue the mission of science should be focused on divergent aspects of society, and not only based on human life, I think by putting the focus on improving the quality of individuals’ lives and betterment of humanity, science also would cover other aspects, like a lot of worldwide challenges, such as climate change. First and foremost, increasing the quality of life is one of the paramount effects of science. Nowadays, science has touched all aspects of day-by-day life including medicine, communication, and technology. Take COVID-19 as a recent sample of the impact of science in medicine; Inventing a new vaccine has saved thousands of lives; or even a new scientific branch like Biotechnology, the blend of biology and technology, is the use of biology to develop new products, methods, and organisms intended to improve human health and society. Another example is all the achievements in technology that without any doubt made human life more convenient, which have raised the standard of living by producing more user-friendly and capable devices, say, smartphones and domestic devices for all ages. Furthermore, the betterment of human life is in alignment with a better and healthier community which is the prime mission of science. Taking the concern for the future of humanity into account, scientific society addresses many challenges and issues of the whole world including climate change, eradication of poverty, and malnourishment. With this perspective, scientists look for solutions to overcome all these obstacles and problems to make human lives better, which would result in great societal impacts too. For instance, the extraordinary improvement of technology in recent decades has brought vast concerns to light about the technological trash that is produced. This is one of the recognized globalized issues that has been worked out by tilting toward recyclable materials. In conclusion, I staunchly believe that the most important goal of science is being in the service of humanity by the betterment of human life and increasing the quality of individuals. With emphasis on this purpose, other targets like a better society would also be achieved.