Essay Question: Some people think that to deal with the problem of congestion in cities, privately-owned vehicles should be banned in city centres, while others consider this to be an unrealistic solution. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In order to solve the issue of traffic congestion in cities, some people suggest that private cars should be forbidden. However, some other people think this is not practical. I will discuss both viewpoints and give reasons to explain why I prefer the latter one. First of all, the number of private cars experienced a huge increase in the past decades, the reasons for this are the increasing population of urban cities and the lower prices a car costs. Therefore, the surge in the number of private cars without proper organisation leads to the problem of traffic jam. A part of citizens believe that banning private cars can improve this situation because it forces citizens to use more public transportation. Moreover, this measure can also reduce emissions from vehicles and improve the urban environment. However, other parts of citizens do not agree with this point of view because this solution is not practical for citizens and I stand with this opinion. Although there are positive effects exist, banning private cars thoroughly can not bring citizens a better life. Some urban citizens might have the chance to live without a car, but in the case of those who live far from the downtown, a private car can help them go to work conveniently. For example, buses do not always arrive on time and there are not enough railway lines can support citizens ' daily work. On the other hand, a private car could be very useful if bad weather comes by. Hence, banning private cars is not a good way to reduce congestion, we should figure out how to tackle this problem while balancing citizens ' daily lives. To sum up, the increasing number of vehicles creates traffic jam in cities. But I do not think this is the right solution because of the potential inconvenience.