Some people say that tourism has many negative effects on the countries that people travel to. How true is this statement? What can tourists do to reduce the harmful effects of tourism on local cultures and environment?

Today, tourism is increasingly growing and brings people a lot of advantages. However, some individuals argue that it has many negative impacts on the countries that they travel to. In my opinion, this statement is true and tourists need to have methods to reduce the bad impacts of tourism on local cultures and the environment. The following essay will show them. Firstly, tourism can cause environmental pollution. Although our society is developing very much with the appearance of many groups or individuals who are always ready to do everything to protect our environment, there are many people who damage it with their bad habits. They act without thinking about its serious consequences. For example, in Ha Long Bay, there are a lot of tourists who throw trash indiscriminately on the beach. It makes this beach from a beautiful place to a place filled with trash. Besides, it also causes discomfort for other tourists and citizens. Therefore, each tourist needs to be conscious of environmental protection when visiting and travelling in localities so that our environment will be better. If everyone has awareness of the importance of the environment and protecting it, we will have fresh, comfortable spaces that we will be proud of. Small actions can create big consequences. For instance, when seeing trash, we take it and throw it into rubbish bins or save energy like electricity or water when using it. In conclusion, tourism can cause bad effects such as environmental pollution and it also affects inhabitants and the environment so we need to have the awareness to protect our environment