One of the consequences of improved medical care is that people are living longer and life expectancy is increasing. Do you think the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern society, the advancement of technology and various inventions, especially in the medical field, has greatly contributed to medical care improvement. Thus, civilians' opportunity to get the best health care also increased, resulting in the possibility of living longer and a surge in life expectancy. Nonetheless, there are several negatives that I believe will outweigh the benefits. To begin with, more advanced medical care offers a variety of health services and medicines that could cater to the needs of diverse people. Thus, the possibility of getting cured of a dangerous illness, such as cancer is big. In the long run, the death expectancy will be drastically fallen. For instance, a heart attack is one of the biggest causes of death in all age groups, so preventing it from happening through the advancement of medical treatment will safely put the population at a comfortable stake. On the other hand, the increased life expectancy will bring various problems that should be taken into account. Firstly, in most developing countries, it will increase the medical bill covered by the government. One of the most prominent examples is in Indonesia with its BPJS, thus the government is pushed to allocate more funds to helping individuals get the best medical treatment based on their needs. Secondly, the humongous amount of older generations can be a drawback that impacts the countries' growth and development. For example, the increase in cases of older people caused the need to build more retirement houses the local governments. As a result, more fund allocation is required. Moreover, most older individuals tend to be the government's responsibility, such as providing them care, treatment, and other necessities. In conclusion, the improvements made in medical treatment can be both beneficial and negative. Regardless, the drawbacks obviously outweigh the advantages with the surge in medical bills, an abundance of older people, and big fund allocation specifically for them.