Supermarkets should only sell food produced within their own country. What are your opinions about it?

Nowadays, tremendous advancements in technology and supply chains lead to creating further possibilities. For example, the import and export of various products to and from all over the world. Hence, if going to a supermarket, you see certainly an imported product. It is said that merely domestic products should be sold in stores. There are good arguments for and against this statement, and I believe that it depends on some factors. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument. To a certain extent, I agree that people should purchase foods that are produced in their country. Within a country, there are numerous people who work as employees in a plethora of food factories. In order to profit, these factories need to have good sales. If we do not purchase from them, they will go bankrupt. Not only that, when this trend continues, the manager may lay off staff, leading to an increase in the unemployment rate. Consequently, this has irreparable consequences for society, such as poverty or even crime. Therefore, stores should sell local foods as much as possible However, some foods we consume may not be found in our country. This is due to climate conditions or geographical location. For example, saffron, which is grown in Iran, needs a tropical climate to grow; therefore, it cannot be grown in cold regions. Another example is Switzerland which does not have access to the sea or river; alternatively, the cocoa plant grows naturally in this area only. Thus, we do not have all of the foods in our country, and we have to buy imported foods. Hence, various measures should be taken by the government so that import only the foods that are not available inside the county To conclude, it is said that only foodstuffs should be sold in the stores that are produced in our country. According to this statement, we only can consume the foods that are produced in the country; otherwise, we cannot taste the foods that do not grow in the country. Furthermore, we should prioritize the purchase of domestically produced products so that we support the employees who work in the country. In my opinion, this sentence cannot be generalized, and it depends on what the item is.