Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Nowadays, more offspring spend hours of their days on their smartphones than ever before.The main reason behind that is the recent technological advancement with smartphone penetration not only reached adults, but also the children. Moreover, with more parents entering the workforce than ever before, that has an implication with children left without their parents ' control. The notion of children's hour spent on smartphones has two sides that need deliberation. On the positive aspects, smartphone usage can make kids stay at home. Especially within the context of parents joining the workforce and thus having no time to watch their children. Other than that, smartphones can improve children's learning process. We have to acknowledge that nowadays, better content on the internet is available that can help children’s learning process, such as educational games, videos, and interactive apps. These can have a huge development in terms of boosting children’s learning ability. However, there are some negative aspects that are worthy of consideration. First of all, there are millions of bad content available on social media and the internet that can have a bad influence on the development of children. For instance, bad content such as violence, nudity, et cetera. Moreover, smartphones can also have a detaching effect on a child from its surrounding environments. More time spent on their phones equals more time spent being lonely and not paying attention to their parents, families and friends. After considering both sides of the debate, I believe that the benefits of children spending time on their phones outweigh the cost. But this does not come without a note, I believe that parents are responsible for moderating the time spent on their children’s phones and enforcing stricter regulations regarding the contents available on their children’s phones. In sum, there are more positive developments than there are negative. But this comes with a premise that parents are responsible for enforcing time limits and parental control of their children’s phones.