Some people think more public money should be spent on roads and motorways than on public transport systems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is agued that more public funds should be invested on making roads and motorways rather than use them investing on public transportation.I totally disagrees with the arguement of road and mortorway motorways expenditure instead of encouraging public transport because it causes trafic congestion and environmental pollution. Firstly, proponents who agree with the option to invest public funds for new road systems lead them increase in road traffic.It can be noticeable that some countries still focus on implementing new highways and roads by discouraging public transport which lead a large number of own vehicles on those roads that occur unnecessary trafic jams.People always prefer the most convienient way for their journey and tend to select their private cars due to lack of public transportation system. For example, Nigeria has the highest traffic index at 304.8 and lack of public transportation. On the other hand, investing money on roads and motorways would increase environmental polution.If road systems are better, people will tend to use their own vehicles and which lead increase in traffic jams which would negatively affect on environment.Co2 emmision will increase and it may cause global temperature to increase lead global warming. For example, more than 48% of CO2 are from vehicles in the world. In conclusion, this essay disagrees with the option for investing money on roads and motorways is compulsary than on public transportation because the consequences of using public funds on new road systems will cause traffic congestion and environmental pollution.