It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and the disadvantages of this? Write at least 250 words.

Nowadays more and more senior high school students choose to have a gap year before entering university. Even though this condition has some drawbacks, I firmly believe that many positive impacts can also be observed. The negative consequences for having a year off has strong relation with psychological aspects. First and foremost, students might lose their motivation for pursuing higher education. Study reveals that stay away from academic ambient for more than three months can decline students ’ motivation for studying. Secondly, it is argue that when gap- year students entry to the university they have to face a culture shock about academic studies. This is because they feel that they are not familiar with the assignment. This situation inevitably happens in all students, but the proportion of being depressed is higher on gap- year students than others. However, having a gap year is often wise to decide the major at campus. This is particularly for students that are still in dilemma to choose a subject. Choosing unsuitable subject might lead to stress and depression since students push themselves to continue study about what they do not want to learn. So, it will be better for giving a break time to have deep thinking about the subject choice. Moreover, taking a year off also has benefits for students further career. It is because they usually try to achieve more experiences that relevant with their dream job throughout the gap- year period. For instance, science students who yearn to become a biology lecturer join apprenticeship in education company for a year to ensure that they gain more knowledge and experience before entering university. Clearly, this training will enhance their understanding better compared to those who enroll university directly without a year off. As a result, they will be more adaptive when study at campus and having a good chance for employability instead. In conclusion, though taking a gap year has some disadvantages, I strongly believe that this action could be beneficial more for students in the long run.