In many cities around the world, traffic is serious problem. What are the causes of this and what actions can be taken to improve the situation?

Most urban areas have been grappling with the huge traffic congestion across the world. Although city dwellers are used to having many facilities in large cities, excessive unplanned urbanization may lead to intense traffic jams which has a great negative impact on the development of any country. In this essay, I shall look into the causes of this phenomenon, and suggest some ideas to alleviate this situation. To commence with, people tend to live in large areas because of the availability of various facilities such as good educational institutions and health care facilities. Therefore, a large number of people have been moving to the modern city from the countryside. As a result, huge populations are responsible for creating unnecessary traffic congestion. Another important reason for increasing the traffic is that people's income level has been improved. Furthermore, the standard earning ability not only helps to improve the living standard but also encourages people to buy the vehicle individually which is why the number of private-owned vehicles has been soaring at an alarming rate nowadays. There are a variety of effective solutions to tackle these problems. Firstly, the government may take the initiative to increase the number of public transportation since private-owned vehicles particularly cars and motorbikes cause heavy traffic jams in urban areas. Secondly, the government may motivate the industrialist to establish their factories in remote areas as per the decentralization strategy. Finally, the financial institutions and government may impose a high-interest rate on personal loans to discourage individuals so that they are unable to buy private cars and other private vehicles at a high cost. In conclusion, although it is challenging to improve this situation overnight, some landmark decisions taken by the government may help to reduce traffic congestion in metropolitan areas.