Governments should spend money on railways rather than Roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is a common belief that Governments should develop railways more than roads. I partially agree with this point of view. A discussion of this issue as well as my thoughts, will be highlighted in the write-up. On the one hand, there are a few reasons why the government should spend more funds on railways instead of roads. Firstly, railways have various uses for mankind. This is because railways can be a transportation for people. For example, people could travel from one city to another city by train, which is faster and more convenient than driving a car. Moreover, investing in railways also benefits the cargo industry. This is due to the fact that some massive items cannot be delivered by plane or car. For instance, a circus cannot move effectively by carrying a lot of animals such as giraffes. Thus, a railway can be more flexible than other transports. On the other hand, the needs of road users cannot be neglected. To begin with, people have the right to choose what transportation they want. To be more specific, in urban cities, people usually take a bus or drive by themselves. Consequently, the need to use the roads in cities is greater than the railways. In addition, in some countries, there is more than one way to use the roads. In other words, they can be used in a competition. For example, in HONG KONG, there is a marathon that crosses many main roads in the city and tunnels. Therefore, these activities must be on a flat road instead of railways. In conclusion, while it is apparent that railways can make an easy way to travel somewhere and deliver the cargo, it is deniable that roads are more necessary in urban life. In my opinion, I believe that there are necessary to spend money to maintain railways and roads. Besides, railways and roads can be a mixture to use.