Some people believe that reading stories from a book is better than watching TV or playing games for children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many contemporary societies, the belief that reading stories is better than watching TV or playing games for younger children has become increasingly common. While this development offers certain advantages, it also raises significant concerns. This essay partly agrees, contending that story books are appreciable for intellectual development, but TV and games help to develop both social and practical skills. One key reason why people prefer their children to read books is that they undeniably mould their intellect. In many cases, the stories teach grammar, spelling, names, and geographical locations, which means that the children can improve their intellectual IQs without learning bad habits. Many lovers of reading usually become fluent speakers of languages with knowledge of different cultures and social practices. Over time, this can result in increased knowledge and understanding of selves and the world, highlighting how reading books is both safe and beneficial. On the other hand, however, we should consider the benefits of watching TV and playing games. More generally, the television necessitates children to learn by observation, not just by internalising scripts. In addition, playing games critically results in the development of social skills necessary for becoming good citizens. This is especially exemplified by interactive games such as soccer, where players must collaborate their efforts to win. Over time, these players learn about team participation, leadership, communication and other vital social skills for life, showing that TV and games are equally important for young people. Overall, despite the belief that children should read more books than they watch television or play games, a more balanced approach is required. Parents should tap into the benefits of reading, especially brain development, but they must also consider the social and practical outcomes of TV and gaming for their kids.