Some people consider public libraries to be unnecessary due to the availability of the Internet. Others, however, believe that libraries play an important role in society. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

One group of people believe, that libraries are just a waste, because of our modern world now, where you can find everything through the Internet. Others, however, think that those kinds of places are vital, due to the importance of the role, they play in society. Personally, I stick to the second group, and I guess, that libraries are essential places for individuals. On the one hand, the first group is right to a certain extent, as they can find basically, everything on the Internet, which is true. Consequently, they do not really need to go to a particular place for searching information, and that is totally understandable. For instance, almost every book now is in online format and all the information you might want to know, you can find on Wikipedia. On the other hand, repositories are not only for borrowing books but for saving someone's legacy. It may be seen from examples, such as ancient books, old manuscripts or just researches from various times. Those documents, can not be online alone, they need a place and a space for saving, because of their importance and contribution to society. For example, the Book of Esther, which is the oldest Bible in the world, is currently located in the ancient library in Persia. So, my point is, that such essential manuscripts for our history can not be just put online and became forgotten. (204) To summarize, archives are unnecessary for finding information but are essential for the saving of books, which have made a huge contribution to the history of humanity. Hence, libraries are crucial for continuing the history of human beings.