Discussion Essay Questions: Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

These days people argue that there must be a specific penalty for every single crime committed, however others believe that before deciding the punishment it should be looked into deeper and why the situation happened. This essay will discuss both opinions, though I believe that before determining the penalty for a person the reasons behind committing the crime should be examined. To begin with, people think that no matter what the circumstances of the felonies are, there should be fixed punishments for every crime. Firstly, people usually believe this because in one case it can reduce crimes, because people would know that no forgiveness or dismissal would be possible from the violation. Additionally, criminals will know what lies ahead of them, and it could potentially stop them from violence. For example, in Lithuania, the punishment in fraud is over 10 years, this shows that over the past decade the crimes in fraud have reduced significantly. On the other hand, some proponents believe that the reasoning and details for committing a misdemeanor should be taken into account before deciding on the discipline. People consider this, because a chance is supposed to be given to everyone, since some crimes are for a good cause. For example, there was a young girl in the United States who killed her kidnapper, who was assaulting her sexually and physically. In this case this girl should be found innocent, because the crime committed should be seen as self-defense. In conclusion, the discussion about whether a crime should have fixed punishment or whether the reasoning behind it should be looked into and then make a rational decision is quite complex. Both views have different values, though I strongly believe that understanding the reasoning behind everything matters, especially when deciding the form of punishment.