With access to the internet and social media websites, many children are exposed to a number of dangerous situations. Adults should thus limit access to the internet for their children. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, social media websites have been around for a while and have been playing a major role in our daily lives, even with the younger generation. However, there have been several claims stating that it is unsafe for children to access these websites and grownups should put limits on accessing these sites. I completely agree with this statement and this essay will discuss the reasons behind the aforesaid issue. Throwing light on the issue, I totally agree that social media is a platform where younger people can find culturally diverse friends and find out more about the world with just one click; however, the advantages of the internet outweigh the drawbacks. To begin with, the World Wide Web is a toxic place where thousands of people are available for bullying, doxing and grooming issues. These incidents happen frequently and it is not an uncommon issue, hence this should not be exposed to younger children as it is harmful to them. Additionally, as these social media sites are very influential, the offspring and teenagers will be attracted towards them and will be engaged in such terrible instances. In addition to this, social media platforms such as TikTok are famous for their ridiculous trends such as jumping from running a car or from the top of the building, eating some clothes washing detergent and many more. These trends have caused many injuries and deaths; hence these kinds of platforms are banned in many countries for example India. Younger children are always curious to learn and try new things without thinking about consequences. Such websites should be not allowed to be watched and banned by the government and as well as by all the grownups. To conclude, social media is a platform for many opportunities however at the same time it brings many challenges for the youth and their families, hence it is advisable that parents should not allow access to their children at a young age to keep them away from toxic and influential people.