Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

There is a discussion among citizens regarding government control and if accessing people's phones, reading messages and monitoring phone records, should be allowed or if it is a breach of one's privacy, therefore should not be available without a permit. In my opinion, even if monitoring citizens through their phones could generate different benefits, at the same time, it would limit their freedom. Nowadays, every single secret can be discovered just by going through one's phone, so, permitting the government to access devices, could lead to important benefits. Firstly, by reading messages, terrorist attacks could be prevented, since hints of them could be uncovered through examining texts. Secondly, this control could detect illegal activities, revealing mixed messages. For example, this action already takes place for targeted individuals, whose phone is controlled by the CIA; if this method was to be extended to the general public, more frauds and illegal activities, such as drug dealing, would get uncovered. However, every individual has a right to their privacy, so this practice would contrast with what is written in the Constitution. We tend to share every single thought and secret through our phones, knowing that everything will remain covered. If we were to allow the government to hold this power, they could use it not only for the good of the Nation, but also to manipulate us, using our secrets against us. In conclusion, even if tighter controls could help the Nation prevent disasters and illegalities, this solution would reduce one's freedom and would allow the government to hold too much power over us.