Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed. However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments. Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

It is still debatable among people whether animals used in experiments should be outlawed, while others argue that experimentation on animals is important in order to achieve scientific breakthroughs. In this essay, I will elaborate on the reason why such an experiment should be forbidden along with a possible alternative. First and foremost, using animals such as baboons, rabbits, rats, etc. for experiments brings more negative perspectives in society. Many scientists sacrifice the species' lives to achieve a high novelty experiment. For example, in pharmaceutical sciences and medicines, some experts aim to find new drugs for disease prevention like in cancer drug research. They use specific species and make them have such cancer cells in their bodies before treating them with newly discovered drugs. If the result shows a good reaction, the drugs are then believed to have benefits in cancer medications. Consequently, they kill many animals which may lead to extinction. Moreover, many animals end up endangered due to massive exploitation. However, in this state-of-the-art era, technological advancement can be utilized as an alternative way of experiment. There are many applications and methods for gene research such as computational chemistry, using virtual-based atoms to learn how our body is generated. This alternative is common worldwide, if the statistics show a negative result, then scientists should not continue to learn about their study further. It means their result is not suitable for human gene application. As a result, it will lower the number of species used for experiments. To sum up, although experiments on animals are important for discoveries in science, it seems to me that another possible alternative that can lower the number of cases of animal experimentation is computational-based research.