6.Some people think that hosting an international sporting event is beneficial for a country, while others disagree. Do the advantages of hosting a major sporting event outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, hosting international sporting occasions may bring several benefits to the host country, ranging from a higher number of visitors to an increase in financial income, as well as advertising a country’s culture. However, there are pros and cons in this situation. It can also have a negative effect on local security, and it requires a large amount of money from the government. In my opinion, the positives outweigh the negatives. To begin with, the opportunity to host worldwide sporting events is the best possible advertisement of culture to substantially increase tourism. For example, hosting the Summer Olympics in Sydney attracted a large number of visitors to Australia compared to the prior couple of years. Moreover, another significant factor is the great potential such events have as a reliable source of income for the local government and the local community. For instance, tennis grand slam tickets sold out from a month earlier, also local businesses such as hotels, and restaurants, pubs can double their profits in that month. On the other hand, some of the disadvantages of hosting sports occasions are the organization and preparation of sporting events require a vast sum of money and security concerns for the local community. In particular, the unfamiliarity of tourists with the norms of the local country can give rise to law-breaking behaviours that may threaten the security of residents, most notably young children. Additionally, hosting sports events requires a lot of money to prepare. This leads to a financial deficit if the host country fails to dedicate adequate financial resources. To sum up, hosting an international sport brings several benefits to the local government and local community. Still, it also comes with a rise in crime and requires a large sum of money. I believe the government can solve the negative aspect and therefore countries should host large events.